The Dilemma of assh*les

7 Nov

I have some sort of a dilemma that’s been haunting me for a while and I’m sure you beautiful readers of mine have it too. How come I always get the wrong kind of attention?

Consider the following premises [subjectivity is implied] : i think of myself as an attractive young woman and I’ve been reminded of that by many people. I usually love to be given a compliment because I’m what you may call an attention-wh*re and I thankfully offer a compliment back. I rarely go out without make-up or in sport clothes, so you see me around in skirts and dresses with pretty-face make-up on. Now, let me tell you something about Romania, or at least about Bucharest. No offense, but this country/city has a LOT of beautiful girls and a whole lot more ugly men. You walk the streets and you turn your head around to admire at least 10 girls on a large boulevard but you see a really HANDSOME man so rare that you may think they’re part of an extinct species. I will never say this is entirely true, but it has been confirmed in the last months so often that it really makes me sad to write about.

Therefore, in the streets of this lovely Bucharest, a lot of individuals don’t know how to approach a lady. They yell, they shout, they bark[!], they whistle, they harrass, they invade personal space, they treat women like animals or objects, they make embarassing remarks and they insist…over and over again with the same behaviour. I am tired of looking good for a bunch of assholes. Don’t get me wrong, I love MEN, but these people I was talking about are so close to animals that it scares me.

Going back to my dilemma, the inner restless question is: What is to be done when you get involved in this kind of situation? How do you protect yourself from the urban jungle??

And more important, at what cost you dress up beautiful, for yourself?

5 Responses to “The Dilemma of assh*les”

  1. theloneystoryteller November 14, 2011 at 02:05 #

    …just started living here and totally agree. Good luck in your quest…

    Jungles are scary but don’t let the animals prevail. Never give up the freedom of being beautiful, be yourself and let them bark. Do it for yourself and for those who silently admire you brightening up these gloomy streets.

    Not a real answer to your question unfortunately. Interesting points of view in your blog…

    • roxilazar November 14, 2011 at 15:38 #

      I don’t think there are “real answers” to this question,but I much appreciate your point of view and I’ll remember what you said next time I’ll feel the same. let me know how’s your story with bucharest, a new beginning here must be one to tell 🙂

  2. theloneystoryteller November 14, 2011 at 16:15 #

    I am a constant exile, never knowing what I am looking for therefore following a dream without possibility to reach it. Buch wasn’t my choice. Life now chose it for me and I take it as a challenge… Trying to find some Beauty and to live life as strongly as I can in this new urban jungle 🙂

  3. Dragos January 9, 2012 at 16:28 #

    I wouldn’t give a fuck. As you said, an art. Hard to master, but very satisfying. You shouldn’t give up beauty

    • roxilazar January 9, 2012 at 19:44 #

      that’s reassuring, thanks! I keep hitting the same problem over and over again lately but once with the frequency increases my ability to not give a fuck :))

Leave a Reply

